Labs, the short version.

Got my results over the phone yesterday so I don’t have actual numbers, just conclusions:

  • Negative for pheochromacytoma
  • Negative for hyperparathyroidism
  • Slightly elevated aldosterone
  • Slightly decreased potassium

The plan is to re-test in a month or two, depending on the severity of my symptoms. Could be a tumor or hyperplasia in the other adrenal. Could be something else. Could be related to the Vitamin D disaster, although my nephrologist doesn’t think I took enough of it or took it long enough to matter.

So, while I’m relieved it’s not the first one, I’m slightly bummed it wasn’t the second, since that might have been a quick fix. I’m in no hurry to get back on the adrenal tumor train again, considering the treatment options aren’t exactly ones that agree with me. And I’m not naive enough to really believe this will pass, although I suppose anything is possible.

What I’m dealing with, plain and simple, is “it’s not fair.” It’s not fair to be an otherwise healthy person who gets an adrenal tumor in the first place, let alone gets a second one. While I knew full well it was a possibility that the adrenalectomy would not amount to a get-out-of-jail-free card, everyone on my medical team thought the chance of it reoccurring was miniscule, given my history and my otherwise healthy status.

For now, it’s wait and see.

