Moderation: just another word for “denial.”

In my last post, I briefly touched on the relationship between PA and insulin resistance – in short, that it can be caused by the potassium depletion from the PA. I’ve been thinking about this quite a bit lately – what it meant for me during the 10 years that I had untreated PA, what familial link there may be, and on a larger scale, where it might fit in to the nation’s diabetes epidemic.

In January 2003, when I was at my sickest (and my highest weight, a whopping 173 pounds), I was diagnosed with two of the three: insulin resistance and metabolic syndrome. With a strong maternal family history of diabetes and heart disease, this would have been enough to scare me into action, but I was lucky: I was also diagnosed with fructose intolerance at the same time. The end result of following a diet for fructose restriction was essentially a low-carbohydrate diet – no sugars, no grains, no fruits – which enabled me to lose 50 pounds in less than three months. I’m pretty certain that this saved my life – at the very least, it reversed many of the symptoms of metabolic syndrome – and thus, I am a big believer in carbohydrate restriction as a preferable treatment (over drugs) for insulin resistance.

My mother, age 86, is the middle child of seven siblings, and is the only surviving one except for the youngest. Of the five who have died, four of them have died from diabetic complications or heart disease (or a combination of both, as all were diabetic). All were obese. The youngest living sibling is also obese and diabetic. The only two of the seven not to become both obese and T2 diabetic are my mother and the one sister who died young (a suicide).

When one begins the diagnostic process for PA, there are a lot of questions about family history. I don’t have a lot of information, but based on what I was able to put together – mainly, the above paragraph – I came to two conclusions: first, while I have no proof of this and never will, I suspect that every one of the siblings above who died of diabetic complications had an adrenal tumor. And, second, if one becomes diabetic as an adult, the best things one can do are remove all sugar and grains, processed foods, and “eating for entertainment” from one’s diet; and get up off one’s butt and move. I am convinced that I reversed my insulin resistance early on because I refused to remain sick and fat (even if this could not reverse the tumor!), and I am convinced that my mother’s apparent immunity to these diseases is due to her lifelong habit of walking everywhere (she never learned to drive).

~ ~ ~

Even if my adrenalectomy has, at least for the time being, rescued me from the danger zone of developing diabetes, I remain extremely interested in the subject, and I have RSS feeds set up for news items about the disease. So even though I don’t watch television and could care less about celebrity chefs, the recent hubbub about Paula Deen’s diabetes diagnosis came across my radar. And I’m siding with Anthony Bourdain here – she really is the most dangerous woman in America.

Why? Not because she advocates eating bacon cheeseburgers sandwiched between two glazed donuts, but because she advocates moderation (WARNING: link with sound!). Loudly and emphatically. Sorry, Ms. Deen, but I’ve got news for you:

Moderation doesn’t work. And you are living proof of it.

First, moderation goes against human nature. We’re hardwired to survive, and survival, historically speaking, means beating famine. So, when presented with food, we eat. Simple enough.

And, second, as I noted above – when one has metabolic derangement, carbohydrate restriction can work wonders. And that means complete and total restriction of all processed foods, sugars, and grains. That doesn’t mean “once in a while,” that doesn’t mean “have a cheat day,” that doesn’t mean “a little bite won’t kill you.” Because it will. Maybe not today, but slowly and painfully, it will kill you. If you don’t believe me, do a Google image search for diabetic foot (WARNING: disgusting images!).

Moderation, in my opinion, is just another word for denial. The minute one is diagnosed with any form of metabolic derangement, be it insulin resistance, T2 diabetes, or metabolic syndrome, one’s life changes. Or perhaps more accurately, one has to change their life – that is, if one wants to take control of the situation and get healthy again. The choices are simple:

  • Stop “eating for fun” – that means no cupcakes, no ice cream, no fast food, no corporate chain restaurants serving plates of ConAgra with a side of Monsanto – and get up off your butt and move.

OR:

  • Practice “moderation” and expect to be feeling crappy, popping pills, and getting fatter and sicker for the rest of one’s life.

There are only two choices. It’s up to you.

~ ~ ~

If you have been diagnosed with insulin resistance, pre-diabetes, or metabolic syndrome, read this first. It’s a pretty decent overview of what each of the terms mean.

Once you have done that, head over to Blood Sugar 101 and read every word that Jenny has written. Chances are it will contradict everything your endocrinologist tells you. And, unlike what your endocrinologist tells you – moderation, lots of whole grains, and many expensive drugs – it will work and you will feel better. It’s worth a try, isn’t it?

One thought on “Moderation: just another word for “denial.”

  1. I love that saying “stop eating for fun.” Thank you for putting into a perspective I get! I do this and it needs to stop.

Leave a Reply

