Three months (and a few days) post-adrenalectomy.

A few notes:

  • As of the first of the year, my doctor released me from the no yoga/no lifting/etc. directive and told me to get back to normal life. My pain from whatever I did to the incision site is, once again, almost completely gone. Here’s hoping it stays that way!
  • Blood pressure remains textbook normal. 114/73 today. I’m having labs done on the 25th to check potassium and the other stuff that was really wonky before the surgery – cholesterol, HBA1c, CRP, and C-peptide.
  • I had a haircut appointment yesterday for the first time since the surgery. My hair texture has completely changed and I’ve lost quite a lot of hair (as was evidenced by the previous week’s need to call the plumber to hydrojet my shower – never had to do that before!). I know that hair loss after surgery is really common, but of course this worries me. Mine all seems to have happened in the last month.
  • I’m continuing to lose weight without trying. Down to 111, a low I haven’t seen since the late 1990s. So if someone asked me if PA effects weight – heck, someone did ask me last night – my answer is yes, absolutely. (ETA: a brief dialog with the doc over at the Yahoo hyperaldo board led to my understanding that this is how it works: low potassium causes insulin resistance; once the low potassium is corrected, the insulin resistance goes away. Apparently correcting low potassium via oral supplements, as I did pre-surgery, isn’t always going to achieve the same effect for a number of reasons; mainly, the levels that are monitored – plasma potassium – are not the most accurate reflection of true potassium levels in the body.)
  • Had my first bit of bad news since the surgery. Last week I went to my optometrist for a routine prescription update. He dilated my eyes and noted that I have visible vascular damage. We discussed PA extensively and he understands what I’ve been through, but can’t really comment as to whether or not the damage he noted is reversible, or what, exactly, it means for me long-term. He also saw early signs of macular degeneration, which runs in my family (but usually doesn’t hit until age 70 or so – I’m only 46!). My mother has this, so I’ve always known that there was a good change I would eventually too. But from what I’ve read, uncontrolled hypertension – you know, that thing I had for 10 years while I was waiting for someone to diagnose my tumor – can also be a cause. I’m currently waiting for a referral to the chief of retinal disorders at UCLA to get to the bottom of this, and trying not to freak out. Or get too pissed off at the series of doctors who were unable to diagnose me all those years!

ETA: yeah, it was getting to me so I did a bit of Googling about the hair-loss-after-surgery thing. Apparently I’m right on schedule – the two-to-four month mark seems to be when it happens. A little disappointing since shedding was an annoying affect of the hyperaldo for me, and the surgery seemed to have stopped it. Oh well. It’s hair; it grows. I hope.

http://www.ehow.com/about_5390925_losing-hair-after-surgery.html

http://www.surviving-hairloss.com/post-surgery-sudden-hair-loss.html

http://ask.metafilter.com/137548/Help-save-my-hair

Leave a Reply

