Six weeks post-adrenalectomy. And, thankful.

Happy Thanksgiving! Appropriately enough, I’ve posted a note of thanks, and a condensed version of my story, on my adrenal surgeon’s blog, here.

My adrenalectomy was six weeks ago today. I still have occasional pain on the left side near the largest incision, but aside from that, I just keep feeling better. I blame the pain on the long hours of sitting hunched over a computer in order to earn a paycheck, and am hoping to remedy this by getting a standing desk soon. After all the walking that I did during my time off right after surgery, I am more convinced than ever that sitting all day – what has become the norm in our post-industrial society – is really, really not good for you. The days that I don’t get a long walk in, my blood pressure runs higher – 120s/80s instead of 110s/70s – and that, in and of itself, is proof enough for me: we are meant to get up and MOVE!

The most notable recent change for me has been the sensation of cold. Yes, it’s practically winter in many parts of the world, but here in Southern California it’s not exactly freezing, and I have not been accustomed to feeling especially cold in previous years. But this year? Brrrrrrr. I’ve had to buy a few things like corduroy pants, instead of the dresses and skirts that I prefer to wear, and a “real” coat (instead of a lightweight jacket) because I can’t seem to stay warm when the temps drop even a little. And I’ve become very, very enamored of fleece. When I had the tumor I was always, always running warm, and often running an inexplicable low-grade fever, so this is quite a change and is taking some getting-used-to.

The other post-surgical change that seems to have become a permanent fixture is that my sleep patterns have completely reversed. Prior to the surgery, I had always had night-owl tendencies and rarely went to sleep before 1am. On weekends, if I didn’t have a compelling reason to get up, I would sleep until noon. Maybe later. While I quite enjoy the night-owl part of the equation, I wasn’t thrilled that I was sleeping half my weekend away, but any time I would try to get up earlier I would end up feeling really sleep-deprived. In the days immediately after the surgery, though, my sleep cycle was completely out of control – two hours of sleep followed by three hours awake, with an overwhelming need to nap at 2pm every day. Now that I’m back to work and on a schedule, this has evened out a bit and now looks like this: by 11pm I can hardly stay awake, so I turn in “early” (hey, that’s early for a night-owl!); I sleep through the night and find myself wide awake at 7am, completely without the grumpy, out-of-sorts feeling that the 7am hour brought prior to the surgery. I’m not sure how I feel about this, but on paper it certainly looks normal – hey, isn’t that that eight hours of sleep everyone is always telling us we should have?? I’m enjoying being up and out and about early in the morning on weekends, before everyone else is doing the same thing, but I miss those post-midnight hours and the clear focus and creativity that would come to me at that time. If I could only channel those things into the spare morning hours… Perhaps more coffee would help…

Still. Minor complaints. Not really complaints at all; observations. I remain confident that my decision to have surgery, six weeks ago today, was the right one. For me.

So. Yes, thankful.

Leave a Reply

