Final report from the endocrine surgeon.

This morning was my follow-up with the endocrine surgeon. I got some post-op aldosterone and renin numbers which are normal:

Aldo 1.3 (reference range <31) – before the surgery I think mine was 44
Renin 1.1 (reference range 0.2-1.6) – before the surgery mine was undetectable

And I got a copy of the pathology report:

FINAL DIAGNOSIS:
Adrenal gland with a cortical tumor, 0.7cm

A microscopic exam has been performed. The specimen… consists of a 10-gram,
7.0 x 4.5 x 0.5cm adrenal gland with attached adipose tissue. The adrenal gland
is 5 grams, 4.0 x 2.0 x 0.5cm. On cut surface, there is a 0.7 x 0.7 x 0.7cm
well-circumscribed, golden-yellow nodule, which grossly appears to come from the
cortex of the specimen. No areas of hemorrhage or necrosis are identified within
the nodule. The remainder of the gland has a golden-yellow and dark red cut
surface.

All that to say what we (hoped we) knew all along – it wasn’t cancer. Yeah we knew that, but still – whew.

My surgeon, to echo my primary care doctor and my nephrologist, pronounced me “cured.”

I burst out into tears and gave her a hug.

Leave a Reply

