One week post-AVS.

I’m not going to lie here – it hasn’t been an easy week. Much like my first AVS, I don’t think I’ve had a particularly bad time of things, but this time around has been a little different. For one thing, I’ve been really, really tired. I mean, stupid ridiculous tired. Ordinarily this damned disease does not have a lot of impact on my day to day life – after hearing the stories of how some people are completely disabled by it, I consider myself one of the lucky ones. I get through the workday just fine and have time left over each day to do the things that are important to me. But this week, not so much. I’ve had everything checked out and nothing is wrong, at least not on paper. There’s no explanation for why I want to do nothing more than sleep, other than “you’ve been through a lot and your body is still recovering.” Okay, fine, I’ll accept that excuse for a couple-three more days. Maybe.

The other thing that’s different this time around is that there’s a bit of bruising at the site on the left where the cannulation was done. Yeah, that left – the one they didn’t quite get right the last time. Plenty of jokes have been made about the bruising being a sign that they got it right this time, and while joking is (in my opinion) the healthy thing to do, I’m a little annoyed. My first day back at yoga did not go nearly as well as the last time – I think I might have felt actual pain a couple of times. And rather than feeling energized afterward, like I usually do, instead all I could do was crash on the sofa. A perfectly good beach afternoon ruined – but I will give myself credit for having the common sense to listen to my body rather than heading up the coast regardless.

So, okay, I’m tired and a bit uncomfortable. Minor complaints. I’m also really really glad I had the chance to repeat the AVS, and – hey how did that happen? – I’m already a week closer to getting some answers. Sleeping a lot may be utterly boring and not what I would like to spend my free time doing, but on the bright side, it certainly makes the time pass quickly.

Leave a Reply

