Sorting it out.

I have a plan. Thanks to some wonderful friends, both in real life and in the online support forum space, and liberal amounts of coffee, I think I’ve sorted out what needs to happen.

  • Repeat the AVS at UCLA.
  • If bilateral, end of story: I try the meds. I already know that in that case, that is my only option.
  • If inconclusive again, end of story: I try the meds. I will at least know that I have done my best to get myself treated locally.
  • If I can’t tolerate the meds (but AVS was again inconclusive), I will find a way to get myself to the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN.

It’s not all that complicated, really. It’s just a matter of getting the AVS ordered again, and getting the insurance to cover it. My mission today: to get my primary care doctor on board with this plan so that he can fight the fight for me. Because really, I think that should be part of the reason I’m paying him.

Leave a Reply

