Risks of AVS.

With my AVS scheduled for this Friday, I’ve been immersed in finding out everything I can – the good, the bad, and the ugly. I already know what my doctor has told me to expect; I’ve read the first-hand patient accounts on the web; I’ve looked for statistics that show just how many of those notorious complications – adrenal hemorrhage or ruptured vein, mainly – actually occur.

Not surprisingly, as with every other aspect of PA, the information just is not out there.

I did find one article from the Mayo Clinic that gave an actual statistic: 2.5% or less complication rate when done by an experienced practitioner. Supposedly mine is being done by the most experienced interventional radiologist in my area, so, there’s that.

Still, I’m pretty sure I’m not going to be able to relax until this is behind me.

Leave a Reply

