Aldosterone suppression test – the aftermath.

I thought I’d escaped from the aldosterone suppression test entirely unscathed, but I may have spoken too soon. Still, this is no big deal, but I thought I’d put this out there in the interest of fully documenting everything.

A couple days ago I woke up with a bright red spot in my left eye. Apparently it’s a subconjunctival hemorrhage, likely caused by the elevated blood pressure during last week’s testing. If it doesn’t go away, or if another one shows up in the other eye – well, then I get to worry. For now, it’s “wait and see.”

Perhaps more annoying is the 4 pounds I gained as a result of the sodium ingestion that are just not going away. When you’re as vertically challenged as I am, that’s practically an entire clothing size.

Needless to say, I’m more uncomfortable now that I was during the three days of sodium loading. But hey, it could have been worse, so I can’t complain. At least not too much.

Subconjunctival hemorrhage

Leave a Reply

