Laparoscopic adrenalectomy.

Depending on the outcome of the tests I will be having soon, I am hoping that I am a good candidate for laparoscopic adrenalectomy. Today I called UCLA’s endocrine surgery center to confirm that they do, indeed, accept my insurance (and the answer was yes). Since I’m the type who likes to know all of the gory details, I dug around their site a bit and found a very helpful, detailed description of the procedure which you can see here. It still looks pretty gnarly.

I’ve also been having an email conversation with a woman a couple years younger than me, with a similar story, who had the surgery (at a different facility) just 9 weeks ago. She says she’s doing great, and told me that she was out of the hospital after only 24 hours, and was back at work in two weeks. This gives me a little bit of hope that it won’t be the six-week house arrest leave of absence I had been told to expect.

Getting a little ahead of myself, I know, since the AVS may reveal that both adrenals are affected, in which case I’m screwed my only option is medication for the rest of my life. But I’m trying to focus on just about anything but the oral sodium loading test that I have to do next week – honestly this thing freaks me out more than the prospect of surgery!

Leave a Reply

