Suspicions confirmed.

I have a 1cm nodule on my left adrenal gland, with the characteristics of an adrenal adenoma. The chances of it being cancer are very, very tiny. The chances of it being an aldosterone-secreting nodule are pretty strong.

Next step: a salt-loading test (sorry, can’t find a good link) or saline-suppression test. The hospital my doctor works out of doesn’t do the latter; the former would require three days off from work, while the latter takes a half-day or so. I would prefer the latter, so my doctor is going to try to arrange to have it done at UCLA.

Next step after that: adrenal vein sampling (AVS), also at UCLA. It’s a pretty gnarly sounding deal and I’m not looking forward to it.

If those tests are enough to persuade the insurance company to cover it, and if the AVS proves that it’s only the left adrenal that will be affected, then I’ll have choices: laparoscopic surgery in which the entire gland will be removed, or remaining on medication for the rest of my life.

I’m a crappy candidate for surgery due to a very small support network and my own stubbornness when it comes to avoiding asking anybody for help. But you know what?

I want that sucker out of me. Yesterday.

Leave a Reply

